Dickson Bags AIT Award (1)

The Governor of Bayelsa State, Honorable Henry Seriake Dickson on Thursday bagged the AIT award for Outstanding leadership and good governance in Accountability.

The governor devoted the award to the good people of Bayelsa for giving him and his team the opportunity to come up with policies and programmes to make the desired impact in the lives of the people.

Dickson who expressed hope for Nigeria and asserted her greatness described the award as a call to greater responsibility.

Dickson commended AIT for recognizing what he started as a silent revolution to bring development to the people of Bayelsa.

He stated that while it was commendable to focus attention on physical infrastructure, efforts should also be made to bring to the fore, issues such as transparency, accountability, security and measures being put in place to encourage checks and balances in governance as well as any form of leadership.

Dickson recalled that his administration enacted the Transparency Act which made it compulsory for the governor to provide monthly briefings on revenues received in the state and how they were disbursed.

He added that a clause in the Act which stipulates that it would amount to gross misconduct on the part of the governor to fail to provide briefings for a period of three months was indeed helpful in the pursuit of the set goal of transparency and accountability.

In his opening remarks, the Chairman of DAAR Communications Plc, High Chief Raymond Dokpesi, stressed that the awardees were selected after a painstaking process devoid of financial inducement.

He said that the awardees emerged after a holistic consideration of their contributions to the development of society.

Dokpesi said that Dickson and others were given the awards to encourage them in view of the realization that they still have a lot to contribute to societal development.

The management team of AIT also awarded Joy Igbodike, Creative Director, Jacbee Furniture and Founder, JB Furniture School with the Outstanding Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award and Inspector Josephine Ojeme, a traffic Police Officer with the Diligence and Dedication Award.

Others who bagged different categories of awards are the Governor of Lagos, Mr. Akinwumi Ambode (Outstanding Leadership in Infrastructure Development), Governor Mohammed Bindow òf Adamawa State (Outstanding Leadership in Women Empowerment), the Governor David Umahi of Ebonyi, (Outstanding leadership in Agriculture) and the Governor Mohammed Abubakar òf Jigawa State, (Outstanding Leadership in Industrialization)

Also selected for honour were the Governor of Central Bank, Godwin Emefiele and the Managing Director of the Nigeria Port Plc, Hadiza Bala Usman among others.

Lifetime award was also conferred on High Chief Lulu Briggs, Chief Biodun Sobanjo, Chairman, Troyka Nigeria Ltd and others.

Leave a Reply